From Brent Simmons:

The best part of the App Store, years ago, from this developerโ€™s point of view, was that it was easy to charge money for an app. No need to set up a system โ€” just choose the price, and Apple takes care of everything. So easy!

And

for many developers, the very best thing about the App Store โ€” the thing that actually helped their business โ€” is gone.

And this

I canโ€™t reconcile in my mind the tension between Apple as the think different company, the pirates, the rebels, the company at the intersection of tech and liberal arts โ€” and Apple the company that runs this legalistic, nitpicky, greedy, inhuman, happy-face Kafka App Store.

And finally this

If I could distribute my iOS app outside of the App Store, I would. Iโ€™d switch in a heartbeat. Even though itโ€™s free and money isnโ€™t my issue. It would make my work as an app maker easier.

Ouch. Coming this guy, it means a lot.

WWDC20 already has a special feel to it, even before the start… not only because it is digital only, but also because I feel (many) developers are simpky fed up with the Apple way.